IGNORED

7800 broken

Atarifever

So my 7800 seems to have given up the good fight. A few months ago she stopped responding to the power button a lot of the time, so I opened her up, bent the little plastic thing back into place, cleaned off some dust, and she started to work better than ever. So today, when she wouldn't power up, I thought "this again." I opened it up, and there's no dust and the plastic pushing thing is perfectly straight. I put it back together and got it to power up once by pushing the button 20 times or so. Then it turned off after a lot of effort. Since then I have pressed the button about 1000 times. The 7800 hasn't powered up once. It makes the proper clicking noise and everything feels solid, but nothing happens.

Any ideas? I have it opened up, and although my camera is out, I can describe what I'm seeing. I have no soldering experience or anything, but I'd try anything to fix the system.

So my 7800 seems to have given up the good fight. A few months ago she stopped responding to the power button a lot of the time, so I opened her up, bent the little plastic thing back into place, cleaned off some dust, and she started to work better than ever. So today, when she wouldn't power up, I thought "this again." I opened it up, and there's no dust and the plastic pushing thing is perfectly straight. I put it back together and got it to power up once by pushing the button 20 times or so. Then it turned off after a lot of effort. Since then I have pressed the button about 1000 times. The 7800 hasn't powered up once. It makes the proper clicking noise and everything feels solid, but nothing happens.

Any ideas? I have it opened up, and although my camera is out, I can describe what I'm seeing. I have no soldering experience or anything, but I'd try anything to fix the system.

I used to repair VCRs and other electronics. Do you see any burns around any of the capacitors? (Are there any?) I've never opened my 7800 up.