IGNORED

I do not wish to see anyone leave...

Bryan

I know there are some who are getting fed up with the level of confrontation sometimes displayed here. As a coder, I would like to see as many other coders as possible find AA a useful resource for ideas and information, regardless of their background and preferences. As a user, I'd like to see friendly and lively conversation regarding our "antiques".

However, if we take this hobby stuff completely seriously and personally then we'll end up driving off the people with the most to contribute and we'll be left with a tiny, contentious clique.

My most liberating day in this hobby was when I decided that no one who cares about retro technology should be my enemy.

Edited by Bryan
  • Like 22

Agreed. I remember a few years back, 2600 legend Rob Fulop showed up. He offered to release a WIP of a game he did in the early 80s. He was sadly driven away by tons of people begging him to finish it, after it was clearly stated he had neither the time or desire to do so. As usual the attitudes flared, and I'm sure he never looked back.

I also would like to see as many coders here as possible, since there is absolutely nobody local to me who still shows any interest in these old machines. My brother & I both work in IT, but he makes fun of me on a regular basis for "wasting my time" on such an old "useless piece of crap". I guess I like the challenge.

I have fond memories of playground arguments, staunchly defending my A8 over the Apple IIs and C64s. That being said, 28 years have passed and I simply cannot fathom the idea of getting into a fight because my 30 year old antique can't display as many colors as your 29 year old antique. I also missed out on a pretty big piece of computing history because of being a fanboy.

• Like 7