IGNORED

Wanted: Atari 800 or Atari 800XL

Zedex

I'm just getting into Vintage Computers. I have a Commodore 64, but I need to repair it, and in the meantime, I'm looking for another vintage computer to add to my collection. I singled out the Atari 8-bit after seeing some videos on YouTube that showed what it could do. I'd really like to get the original 800 instead of the 800XL, because it would fit my early 80's gaming collection. But I only found one on eBay, and it's expensive. So what type should I get? What's the earliest model that will run most of the games? How many NTSC games are there on cassette tape? (I'm a cassette tape freak)? What happened to my sandwich?

The 800 is a great machine but you'll want to make sure it has 48k. The 400 upgraded to 48k could work too-- it has a weird membrane keyboard but that's probably not a big deal for a game machine. If you want to be able to run everything (like me) then you could get a 130XE, though be aware the build quality on those is cheap and you'd be missing out on 4 joystick multiplayer fun. Hope that helps!

What games are there on cassette in America? I'm a big fan of cassette loading for some strange reason ( I had this same conversation over at Lemon64, my username over there is TeamRocketReviews). I don't know why, but loading a game from a cassette tape is the very definition of cool. I think I'n going to get the 800XL. I'm trying to build a general collection of the definitive vintage computers, so which model is the most iconic/definitive/well known? I want to have the definitive version of each of the classic computers of the 80's.

Tapes are not as popular as Disks and Carts, I have a fairly extensive collection of tapes, and a lot of them are UK only low budget releases (still fairly good games)