IGNORED

TRS-80 Color Computer - Cartridge list/rarity guide?

tremoloman2006

Hello everyone,

I am relatively new to the TRS-80 Color Computer. So far I'm really digging it!

Is there some sort of online guide/cartridge list I can utilize to help build my collection? I see carts for sale but have no idea what pricing/rarity they are since I cannot find anything to compare them with.

Any help would greatly be appreciated!

Best regards,

Trem

• Like 2

I don't know of any rarity guide for the coco. Most of the carts from Radio Shack are common, especially early titles. A few like Demon Attack, 5 (7?) Card Stud, and Dragon Fire, are less common. 3rd party carts not sold in Radio Shack make rare on other machines look common by comparison.

I've picked up lots with several carts off of ebay for as little as $2 a cart. I think individual carts were about $4 each for a long time but people seem to be asking a lot more these days. I wouldn't spend over $5 on a common cart unless I really had to. Demon Attack or Dragon Fire would be worth $8 or more depending on how many have been on the market recently.

If you want an example of the rare, I think Atico (something like that) made a couple cart games that I've never seen on ebay or in person and probably never will. I'd guess they sold in the hundreds. Cyrus chess is fairly rare but you do see it once in a while. I think Cyrus went for over $25 the last time I saw one on ebay.

Most coco software was Tape or Disk and it seems a lot of those titles are rare.

Tape/disk titles to look for are from Tom Mix Software, Spectral Associates, Computerware, Michtron, etc...

3rd party titles often sell for $15 or more and I've seen a few titles like SR-71 go for over $50.

You can find a fairly good list of CoCo games at the link below. It's by no means complete but it will give you an idea of whats out there.

Most games weren't on carts.

http://www.lcurtisboyle.com/nitros9/coco_game_list.html

Trem,