IGNORED

FireBee Computer - Anybody own one?

tjb

Of course I got my own one, and use it on a (nearly) daily basis. But I am unsure you like some informations from somebody who is deeply inside the project? ;)

It´s still "Alpha - Edition" but it really feels like a computer, and is usable for several day to day (GEM-) tasks. As I wrote in the german forum some days ago, I am on my way to use it exclusively as only computer. That´s recently not possible, but the last months I often powered it up instead of my Mac to do small and quik tasks in more easy ways.

So if you have exact or special questions please go ahead.

Well, I'm interested in this one too.

One thing to consider is I'm not a techie, more of a power user.

I really would like to use a Firebee for everyday computing tasks, like web browsing (for example, here on atariage), mail, RSS...

Maybe gaming once Klaz get out of his long sleep and adapt for Firebee old games. :)

Well, as said, you need to ask exact questions. RSS is working, Netsurf is working quite well (even if you need to be patient, as it is not 100% optimized, and sometimes needs several seconds for rendering), of course no Javascript. USB (mice, kbd, sticks) are working very well, SD card, CompactFlash as well.

Missing is recently; SCSI, ROM-Port, Game-Port, ACSI

Not well working/recently under construction are: Printer (paralell), FLoppy (just reading yet), MIDI

Thats why it is called "Alpha Status"

Everything else is in good usable condition.

About half of the GEM applications I am testing, are working out of the box. Tell me what you like to do and I can say if it works right now already.

Edit: (Beside Typo), the screenshot is with 1680 x 1050 @ 32 Bit

post-23253-368271_thumb.jpg

Edited by Mathias
  • Like 1

Any workarounds to the Line-A incompatibly issue? Could someone make an ST emulator for the FireBee that passes through most instructions but handles situations like this?