IGNORED

Grand Theft Auto 2600

adamchevy

No problem. I assume this topic has probably been brought up before. Maybe I should make this my first programming challenge. Batari Basic looks pretty interesting. It certainly would give me a reason to learn. I'm thinking about starting with assembly language before I go the batari basic route, but I'm not sure what the best way to begin programming for the 2600 is.

No problem. I assume this topic has probably been brought up before. Maybe I should make this my first programming challenge. Batari Basic looks pretty interesting. It certainly would give me a reason to learn. I'm thinking about starting with assembly language before I go the batari basic route, but I'm not sure what the best way to begin programming for the 2600 is.

If you are smart, use assembly language. If your IQ is fairly low, use batari Basic. :D

• Like 1

I wish! I started programming in high school with c++, and continued using it in college. But it's been a few years, so programming in any language is going to be a learning experience. I noticed princess rescue was made with batari. Thats a pretty impressive game.

To answer your original question, yes. Atarius Maximus has an early work in progress available on his website. It's also posted here on the forums somewhere. It uses bB and showed promise, so hopefully it will get a little more attention once his Jungle Adventure (an incredible looking work in progress) is finished.

I got pretty confused when I googled that title. Are you also Moon Goon?

You probably found my idea for a compo entry on TIGSource. I changed my competition entry at least twice and ended up making a Super Pitfall de-make. I'm not sure where the source code is for Chalice City (was a PC game).

http://forums.tigsource.com/index.php?topic=2398.0

batari BASIC is an excellent platform to rapidly bring your game ideas to life. It also eases you in to the concept of kernels and cycle counting.