IGNORED

VectorGeddon possible on Vectrex?

ComputerSpaceFan

Just got into this very cool game on iOS called VectorGeddon and it almost seems like a game that would be possible on the Vectrex. Not too many items onscreen at the same time, not too fast, but it's a fun sort of tower defense game crossed with Missile Command with a splash of Star Castle.

So, without knowing anything about Vectrex programming I'm jut wondering if something like this would be possible to make? And okay I'll admit it, I'm hoping one of our awesome Vectrex homebrewers might take up the challenge. I confess.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LfFOPOahqIg

I'm no programmer, but it looks like if the particle effects and physics were greatly scaled back, it would be doable. Maybe make the game less intelligent and simplify the visuals, and you could more or less achieve the same effect. Of course you'd have to make considerations for using a joystick instead of a mouse. It certainly looks fun, though.

I don't know why, but people don't tend to like that control style very much.

I do--hyperchase is my favorite vectrex game.

I prefer the analog stick for games as well, the trackball even more (for games that are meant for that). And you can read an analog stick as though it were a digital (8-way, 4-way, 2-way) stick but you can't read a digital stick like it's an analog one.

Vectorgeddon looks much like Liberator except that the PC police decided that changing the emphasis from planetary bombardment to saving the Earth from killer asteroids would be more empowering. Just sarcasm, I have no idea what motivated this game but it seems like something that should have been in arcades in the early '80s. It could almost be the Earth end of Space Battleship Yamato anime with Earth shooting down planet bombs fired from the Gamilas Pluto base.