IGNORED

Carts vs roms

I'm new to the forums and was pleasantly surprised to see intv is alive and well.

I am thrilled to see new games for it as well, but i am curious about some things.

First off i admit i have no knowledge of programming, nor any interest in collecting.

Having bought 3 intvs in the last year and a half only to have them blow up,not work and spontaniously combust, i've decided to stick to emulation.

I'm wondering why most of the homebrews are cart only and not available as roms( not complaining, just curious)

It seems to me the collectors will buy them CIB no matter what, leaving the emus sol.I'll gladly pay for them, i just wonder about the reasoning behind it, are emu users a small minority?

Although I'm not really giving you an answer, you should look here: http://www.intellivision.us/roms/roms.php

And, since you bought 3 intvs and probably still have some controllers available, maybe you'll be interested in this: http://www.intellivision.us/intvgames/interface/interface.php

Welcome aboard! :)

Edited by LidLikesIntellivision

Very simple: there is a belief, partially justified, that the existence of a ROM in the wild cannibalizes sales of the cartridges.

You're correct in that the CIB folks are - let's face it - buying cardboard anyway, and will continue to do so regardless. Hell, some of these people buy 15 copies of the same Poker&Blackjack game because of a slight font change from the 14th - and that ROM has been out there for decades. But there is a belief that there is a market out there, of people who will pay $50 just to play a new homebrew, but who don't care about the CIB thing at all, and would also never pay a dime if the ROM was freely available.