IGNORED

600XL Keyboard Connector

atari8warez

I have this 600XL with what seems to be an extra keyboard connector board that goes between the keyboard connector on the motherboard and the 600XL keyboard ribbon cable. Did anyone see that before and know what it is used for?. This particular 600XL does not have any upgrades other than the 64K Ram mod.

Here's a photo of the extra connector board:

post-15627-0-76992900-1421990582_thumb.jpg

In my main 600XL I removed it. I have been using that 600XL for about 4 years with very much keyboard work (coding in assembler) and never had a single issue.

One thing to add though… I removed the PCB keyboard with a Mylar version. It had originally the most awful keyboard possible, and I had a defect 800XL floating around, with a very nice keyboard. So I took that keyboard (with the mylar foil connector) and connected that directly to the main board of the 600XL.

But indeed… I have heard it has a functionality. IIRC … when you make certain key combinations (you press simultaneously certain keys) there could go something wrong, but like I wrote above: heavily used 600xl here, mylar foil keyboard, not that part from your picture, not a single issue ever.

It has another advantage if you remove the keyboard cable very much for work inside the A8. It should be much more durable for repetitive insertion/removal. I have an 800XL with a messed up keyboard cable, so I carefully stripped the insulation and plugged it into the 600XL connector. Now I can remove/insert it without fear of damaging the cable further. It does make a snug fit in an 800xl, but still closes up OK. Incidently, my 800XL keyboard works perfectly with whatever added resistance there is.

-Larry

• Like 1

It is about 465Ohm per resistor, this one isn't a mylar foil keyboard, and yes it makes safer for multiple removal/insertions, I guess I just have to find a way to make it fit properly with the U1MB upgrade in the vicinity.