IGNORED

Programming Questions

Fushek

Howdy! I'm working on a game (very slowly as life is busy and I'm not a programmer by nature) but I'm trying to work through two issues that I'm hoping someone can assist me with.

Basically, the game is designed to be an Choose Your Own Adventure / RPG with a turn-based combat system. Right now, just trying to get the intro screen and basic game mechanics with a basic fight scene. I've attached my code and a ROM below to show what I have so far, which isn't much :P.

My two issues:

1) In drawing the Intro Screen (using the Print for each Bitmap card), it stops "printing" them after I hit around the 18th bitmap even though I've used:

DEFINE DEF00,25,IntroScreen

2) Can you use a variable as the destination for a GOTO statement? As my game will be "page" driven, I want to be able to define a variable as the next "page number" to go to after a battle. In other words, define PAGE = 130 and tell the system GOTO PAGE (except page is the variable of 130 rather than "PAGE").

I'm sure that the code is ugly and that there is a TON of things that can be more efficient. Just trying to have fun and end up with some kind of completed project!

Any advice is appreciated!

post-31049-0-11778200-1444335583_thumb.png post-31049-0-42022000-1444335590_thumb.png

WizWar.rom WizWar.bas

• Like 3

1) In drawing the Intro Screen (using the Print for each Bitmap card), it stops "printing" them after I hit around the 18th bitmap even though I've used:

DEFINE DEF00,25,IntroScreen

You can DEFINE 18 GRAM cards per wait without music and 16 with. So you'll need to break it up into 2 lots of defines separated by a "wait".

2) Can you use a variable as the destination for a GOTO statement? As my game will be "page" driven, I want to be able to define a variable as the next "page number" to go to after a battle. In other words, define PAGE = 130 and tell the system GOTO PAGE (except page is the variable of 130 rather than "PAGE").

Kinda. You have