IGNORED

Why Video Game Journalism Is Bogus

Here is a very enlightening article from the Online Journalism Review on the reality of those video game reviews we read. The total lack of ethics and respect for the reader may astonish some, but as a former rock music writer, I can say that all forms of entertainment journalism are equally suspect. If the writers don't please their subjects (bands, video game publishers, etc.) then they wont get access for interviews, won't get their stories printed, and worst of all won't get to party with them!

http://www.ojr.org/ojr/ethics/1049994303.php

As a journalist, I can tell you all forms of "news" - entertainment, world events, local news, etc. - is clouded by both the opinions of the reporter and the amount of dollars being poured in by the advertiser. I've seen articles killed because the advertiser said so. I've seen reviews tainted becasue of free stuff the writer recieved or because he/she had an axe to grind, etc.

The only "pure" reporting left is sports reporting, and that's only because they're solely describing an event already witnessed by thousands of others.

I rarely believe any reviews for anything. I think between the subtle payola and the writer's apathy for doing their job well, it's all bullsh*t. I read them out of curiousity but it's never the determining factor for me.

A little side bar to this...