IGNORED

Can somebody explain the basics of the reset strobes and horizontal motion?

Hey,

I'm finally sitting down to figure out the intricacies of horizontal motion in VCS kernels.

I could use a little chalk talk on the intricacies of the various reset strobes, and their interaction with HMOVE. I am currently studying the Combat and Video Olympics source to figure out where things meet, and I see the stack smashing trick, very clever way to check and set values in a constant # of cycles....

I know my way around 6502 assembly, but the whole line oriented approach is tripping my brain up. :)

-Thom

MiniDig - best of stella has lots of useful info collected from the old email discussion group. While it's defunct, you can access everything from the archive.

Also check my tutorial Collect, which covers the development of a 2K game from scratch. I put way more comments in the source than I normally would.

• Like 1

Thanks, Darrell. I'll take a look at that.

I've been using the disassemblies at the dig for a long time, to understand implementation of a lot of different kernel concepts...

I'm actually somewhat confused through, RESP0 and RESP1 in combat are only being set in one place, how is it delaying to the appropriate time to strobe the reset?

-Thom

I'm actually somewhat confused through, RESP0 and RESP1 in combat are only being set in one place, how is it delaying to the appropriate time to strobe the reset?