IGNORED

Questions about the workings of games

I made a topic a while ago about how Ms.Pacman had multiple ghost on screen without flicker. Now I have more questions. Why in some games are there black lines on the side of the screen? Another question is (I'm not too sure about this, I'm not a musician) How does Pitfall II have more then 2 audio channels play at the same time? Also, how does that game scroll vertically, I know the NES has scrolling built into the PPU, but if the TIA had no RAM, I'll bet it probably didn't have scrolling.

* Black lines.

The TIA has just enough memory to hold the data for one line of the screen, including its players, missiles, and one ball. (and for the players and ball there is actually a backup register that is flipped when the VDEL register is strobed, but I digress). The programmer must take care of loading these registers when he wants them to change on each line of the display. The programmer therefore takes care of the vertical part of the display, including the vertical sync timing, while the TIA handles the horizontal.

Basically, the TIA player and missile registers operate by the principle of a counter that is synchronized to the horizontal timing of the screen. This counter is non-linear, so you can't just say, "Place the sprite at this location" Instead, since the horizontal timing is constant, and you're keeping track of where things are vertically (you have to), you strobe a particular reset register for either player, or the enable bits for their missles or ball.

Since it takes a certain number of cycles to do this, and the TIA is running at three times the speed of the processor, this means that you can only strobe the reset at specific spots on the screen (which happen to be 15 pixels apart).