IGNORED

SIO2PC USB APE instructions for Windows 10

hueyjones70

I recently purchased a SIO2PC USB from AtariMax, the trial version of APE will not get started and email to Atarimax has gone unanswered. Are there any written instructions anywhere out there that will tell me what I need to do in order to use the hardware to accomplish ANYTHING. I am very new at this, I just want to be able to download a few files.

What you do mean it will "not get started"? Like it will actually not launch? It launches fine in Win 10 x64 on my end. But then again I have an updated version than the trial available as I purchased APE long ago. The premise is easy. Connect SIO2USB from the PC to the atari, launch the app, mount a disk, turn on the atari. A free app that does the same thing can be found here:

https://sourceforge.net/projects/aspeqt/

A free app that does the same thing can be found here:

As far as I know, Steve’s device is “locked” into using APE. I don’t believe ApeQT or RespeQT will work with it.

That said, a couple years ago I was ago to get APE to work with an FTDI-based device from another maker on a Mac through VirtualBox and a virtualized Windows COM: port pointing to the /dev/usb file structure in OS X. :P.

So anything is possible. Just give us a bit more information so we can help you get things sorted.

When I try to run the APE trial version (when I click the ICON), nothing happens and I hesitate to purchase the real thing when the trial version doesn't work.

Right-click it and select “Run” to see if you get some kind of security pop-up or warning. If nothing happens still, open Task Manager and see if some ghost processes from the last times you tried are still hanging around. If so, kill them and try again.

When I try to run the APE trial version (when I click the ICON), nothing happens and I hesitate to purchase the real thing when the trial version doesn't work.