IGNORED

Help with understanding the limits of SIO2PC and XF551 issues.

Geister

Hi All,

I exited the Atari 8-bit scene sometime in 85 or 86 after giving all my 8-bit stuff away to a good home. I recently started playing with emulators out of nostalgia and found that it's not the same as the original hardware. After watching many youtube vids, especially FJC's live streams about all the interesting new hardware for the 8-bits, I decided it was time to get some real hardware and start playing again. My first project after cleaning up some barn-find computers and disk drives was to build my own SIO2PC cable using an FTDI board and I'm confused by some contradictory statements I've read about the device.

First of all, the device works and I can boot images stored on my laptop using the cable and the RESPEQT software. But I want to be able to transfer some programs I have on actual floppies up to an image on the laptop. I have read both that this can be done, and that actual floppy drives won't work with the SIO2PC attached to the SIO bus. The second situation seems to be true. Is there something else that needs to be done to make an SIO2PC that doesn't steal the SIO bus?

Am I using the wrong software for the task? Am I using the wrong disk drive? I'm using an XF551 because I want to use double density diskettes. Would I be better off getting a US Doubler or a Happy mod for the 1050 and use that instead?

I know next to nothing about the XF551 and DOS XE since neither were available when I was still using my Atari.

On the subject of XF551 drives, I've fixed cracked solder joints on mine and it seems to be working fine without the SIO2PC attached, except that I can't format a disk using DOS 2.0. I'd try other DOS versions, but since I can't copy files to the drive with the SIO2PC attached...I don't have any other DOS version.