IGNORED

Can Someone Make a Repair For Me ?

Tommy17

Hello. For starters, thanks for reading this post. I recently purchased a 4-switch 2600 through Ebay. It works well for about 5 minutes, then the screen loses color and the picture gets distorted. From what I read on the messages posted here, my problem should be a bad switch box or a loose RF cable. Well, I've checked both parts and both were found to be ok. That leads me to believe that the RF Modulator is bad. I think I read that someone else had a similar problem. ;)

My questions is this - Can someone make the needed repair for me or direct me to a good place that can ?

Many thanks in advance.

Tommy #17

I am no expert, but I have fixed a Atari 2600 myself. I have also broken a few, then fixed them again. (I have spent more time inside one than I care to say)

If I am not mistaken, I think there is a way to adjust the RF signal. I saw somthing inside that you could adjust with a little screw driver... I am guessing that is what it's for. This is just a guess though.

If you have allready replaced your cables etc, and it's still a no go, perhaps you should just forget RF alltogether? It's not very difficult to mod your sytem to output video and audio seperatly, just like a modern video game system. If your not confertable with a soldering Iron, etc. I am sure you could find someone to do it for you. I am sure (but not positive) that this would solve your problem. Hell, I could even do it for you. It only costs around $10 in parts. Thakes a little while though. (I am faster, than before, but I am still slow compaired to others I am sure)

I know there are places you can mail your Atari, they charge a flat rate of like $25, for repair.

-darkman

I personally think the problem is in the 7805 regulator. From what

you are describing, it gets hot, and does not regulate the 5 volts

properly and that is why you are getting the bad picture.....

Take it apart and when it acts up, cool the 7805 with a something