130 FOR D=0 TO 359
140 X=(COS(D)*S)+80
150 Y=(SIN(D)*S)+96
160 COLOR D
170 PLOT 80,96
180 DRAWTO X,Y
190 NEXT D

200 GOTO 200

The above program is a very simple circle drawing routine, but the problem I have is, that, when you type it in and RUN it up - the whole circle is NOT drawn, after so many degree's (roughly about 135') what's drawn dissappears EVEN THOUGH it stilll continues to finishing drawing the rest of the circle.

I remember encountering this problem many years ago, but used to work around it. Now, being a more experienced programmer I stumbled upon it by accident and remembered how I used to try to get around it, but still to this day don't understand 'why' this happens, and 'how' to stop it?

Anyone know why this happens, and how to overcome it?

Edited by ac.tomo

Looks like the problem happens with COLOR command and D value 125.

If you skip 125 whole circle gets drawn so a simple workaround would be:

155 IF D=125 THEN D=126

This skips one beam though.

Other solution would be to use different variable for color, increment it and reset it to zero when it reaches 4.

125 C=0

160 COLOR C

165 C=C+1

167 IF C=4 THEN C=0

No idea why this happens though.

• Like 1

12 minutes ago, globe said:

Looks like the problem happens with COLOR command and D value 125.

If you skip 125 whole circle gets drawn so a simple workaround would be:

155 IF D=125 THEN D=126

This skips one beam though.

Other solution would be to use different variable for color, increment it and reset it to zero when it reaches 4.

125 C=0

160 COLOR C

165 C=C+1

167 IF C=4 THEN C=0

No idea why this happens though.

Many thanks for working that one out globe, I don't know the reason for it myself, perhaps its something in the OS drawing routines, but I'll remember now in future to avoid COLOR 125 lol. Thanks fifth player too, yh, plenty of methods now we know the problem.

• Like 1

Hi!

1 hour ago, ac.tomo said:

160 COLOR D

Anyone know why this happens, and how to overcome it?