IGNORED

Capacitor c55 issue

Rastamafugg

Just received a 7800 that seems to play 2600 games ok, but I only got a 7800 cartridge to work well enough to play a game once.  When I examined the board, I noticed that the leg of the capacitor labeled c55 wasn't connected to the board. I'm planning on reconnecting it, but seeing as this is my first time using a 7800, I figured it's a good idea to check here first, to make sure it's not just a factory bodge.  I'm going to do a second cleaning of the connectors first, but after a post-clean test, that's the next step as far as I can see.

That is an NTSC model yes?

I can tell you it isn't normal for that cap to be undone. Heck that entire section looks to have been redone based on the soldering? Even an odd section of solder at the bottom lead of the FB just before the main filter cap?

That cap should be attached.

4 hours ago, marauder666 said:

Some of the resistors have been changed for 0.5W ones, look to be the correct value though.  Don't see any reason for it.

I'd clean up that area and make sure they arent any bad connections.  That part of the circuit is related to the soft power up.

My theory on this is that a power mod was attempted in the past on this console and the wrong polarity was used and blew some of the components. I'm stating that because of the solder blob on the ground trace and at the base of the FB. That is actually where I solder my wiring for power mods as well or have in the past. I used to attach pigtail cables from those points that had a standard barrel jack on them so you could use a Genesis power supply. Possible someone did something similar and the wrong PSU was plugged in. Just a guess though.

-^CrossBow^- is correct that cap should be attached, the unattached end should connect to pin 4 of the 4013. So if you have trouble getting it into its original hole you could flip it over the 4013 and attach it to R47 (Brown, Black, Green, between the two caps) which also goes pin 4.