IGNORED

AND and NAND gates

Justin Payne

Hey all,

I'm trying to finish added the 32K internal mod to my Timex Sinclair 1000. The instructions are a little confusing but I think I got more of it. Still, there is one thing I think requires someone with a bit more knowledge than myself.

In the instructions here (http://www.zx81.de/english/32k-rame.htm) it states...

My first question is...

1. If you need an AND, why not just use an AND gate, which seems to be a 7408 instead of an NAND gate (7408)?

2. Also, does that top box (with the yellow arrow) look like the wire diagram I created below it?

image.thumb.png.552669a036990096feb5e1ef1c2d06f3.png

51 minutes ago, Justin Payne said:

1. If you need an AND, why not just use an AND gate, which seems to be a 7408 instead of an NAND gate (7408)?

I'm no expert, but I guess this is simply because NAND gates are more useful and people are more likely to have those on hand rather than AND gates.

You can obtain any logic function by combining NAND gates.
You can only obtain AND functions by combining AND gates.

EDIT: there are cases where the propagation delay, that is the time the signal takes to pass through the gates is important and a specific sequence of gates is required, but the instruction would have stated that explicitly in that case.

2. Also, does that top box (with the yellow arrow) look like the wire diagram I created below it?

Yes.

Tie the inputs of unused gates to a fixed logic level (e.g. Vcc or ground). Leaving them unconnected (floating) makes them easily pick-up electrical noise which might affect the functionality of the entire circuit.

Edited by alex_79
  • Like 4

With regard to question 1...

I am not sure why they use a NAND instead of an AND, possibilities are....

1. Maybe they just had one lying around as so used that instead.
  2.  Maybe they are generally easier to get hold.
  3.  Maybe just because it uses more of the device.

With regard to question 2...