IGNORED

Just bought a Vectrex. Is there anything I should know about this system?

Steven Pendleton

Vectrex is in the mail now. I've never used or had a Vectrex before and it is quite unique, so is there anything I should know about this system?

This Vectrex does not have functioning audio, so I will have to fix that. The parts I need were included with the system, but I don't know how to solder or anything, so this will be interesting.

• Like 5

Woohoo!

The most important thing to know as an owner is that you shouldn’t use the power/volume switch - just leave it switched on and plug it in or unplug it. I got a short switched extension cable.

The most important thing to know as a technician is that CRTs are high voltage. If you are adjusting the CRT trim pots with the power on, wear leather gloves and don’t use both hands near the business end at one time.

The most important thing as a player is to get a multicart. The Jason Kopp/Ralph Kornmann multicart is cheapest and has a really nice menu. The Sean Kelly multicart has all the official games and some exclusives. The @Richard H. VecMulti is essential if you want to keep up to the minute with new WIPs and the dozens of one-shot programs people make for it every year.

The most important thing as an internet user is that this forum is sadly pretty quiet. The most active group is “Vectrex fans unite” on Facebook (there are two by that name - the bigger one is the better one). The most active internet forum is Vector Gaming on ProBoards.

The most important thing as a collector is that the Japanese Bandai Vectrex releases are all worth their weight in platinum, so if you ever see one buy it.

• Like 8
  • Thanks 2

On 4/20/2022 at 6:52 AM, jgkspsx said:

The most important thing to know as an owner is that you shouldn’t use the power/volume switch - just leave it switched on and plug it in or unplug it. I got a short switched extension cable.