IGNORED

Strider

Zoyous

I just started playing Strider for the MegaDrive/Genesis again recently, and I'm just so impressed with its creativity. It's got a real cinematic flair without much use of cutscenes - the soundtrack will change dynamically as you access different areas of each level. It's got a more atmospheric, understated soundtrack than most of its contemporaries had. And it just dishes out satisfying surprises at a steady clip. Just in the first few stages it has you scaling rooftops, breaking through ceilings, rushing down steep slopes just ahead of exploding mines, making leaps across chasms, hanging from ceilings, jumping across from one flying vehicle to the next, sliding under falling security barriers, fighting a giant robotic gorilla and a council of people who join together to transform into a huge serpent, climbing an electrified structure while silhouetted against the sky, entering a chamber where gravity changes and draws you toward a moving boss...  in short, it's unbelievably badass! I never beat it back in the day but I'm going to try to this week. I love this trio of early Genesis games that were conversions of Capcom coin-ops (Strider, Forgotten Worlds, and Ghouls n' Ghosts). Capcom was creatively firing on all cylinders in this time, with every stage of each game just bursting with wild, cool ideas.

• Like 3

For sure man.. I loved the game in the arcade back in the day then later I remember seeing a preview in a japanese gaming mag (Famitsu?), opening it up and being blown away that Strider was coming to the Genesis. Back then the game seemed just way too 'complex' to make it intact to a home console at least to me. 

Anyway playing it now, in retrospect you can see the rough edges here and there when comparing it to the arcade game, but all in all I still do think they did a great job. :) I still like playing it now and then but it does get real tough in the later stages 

• Like 1