IGNORED

Bad Apple for the Odyssey 2?

Hey everyone so I had a quick pass at @atari2600land about getting bad apple on the Odyssey 2.  If the 2600 could do it and the intellivision..  it seemed reasonable that the O2 could as well.  Bank Switching is the key to this being possible..  

The intellivision bad apple demo for example is around 430kb..  no intellivision rom could be that big..   but bank switching allows it.    However, I am no developer so I can't speak to how bank switching would work with the O2 or if it's even possible, but it seems like if the 2600 could manage it..  the O2 could.   

I don't know if bank switching is something that's ever been explored for the O2..   but I think it would be awesome to see bad apple on the O2!    It seems like if the 2600 could do it..  come on, we could do this!  ;) 

• Like 1

Ah ok, i just wonder how the 2600 could manage it..  mind you i saw it on an emulator on youtube..  i can't say i've seen a video of a real 2600 running bad apple..   maybe because it was in emulation they could hack it..   the intellivision above was definitely real hardware, just using a multicart with bankswitching enabled..  

55 minutes ago, Crazy Climber said:

I ran it on mine with an UNO cart no problem.

Cool I was going to try mine this weekend.  I have the Uno as well.  

4 hours ago, atari2600land said:

The biggest game you can possibly get on Odyssey 2 is 16k, and that's with bankswitching.

So what gives with O2 having a 16kb ceiling?  What defines this limit?  I'd think if the 2600 could manage it so could the O2.  Architecture? BIOS? 

On 3/3/2023 at 4:09 PM, atari2600land said:

Bankswitching doesn't go very far on the Odyssey 2 I'm afraid. The biggest game you can possibly get on Odyssey 2 is 16k, and that's with bankswitching.