IGNORED

Fastbasic string questions

I recently started playing with FastBasic and I must admit I am really liking it... but I am having difficulty with FB strings since I am used to programming Atari Basic since 1981. So I decided I would take one of my working Atari Basic programs and convert it.  It is basically a disk read / comparison program. I have this 90% completed in FB, but am struggling a little.

In Atari Basic I use this:

DIM A$(2560), B$(2560)

and I know this is two strings of 2560 bytes each.  No problem reading and writing to it in AB.

In FB, is it correct that this would be two string arrays of 2560 bytes each?

If so, what is the correct way of writing to it? 

Or am I missing  it completely?

I know I may need to elaborate more since I read a sector from the disk by setting up a pointer into the string, performing some pokes in and around $300 and then using this:

image.png.130e301c47a0333573a39367c29e442c.png  and then this: image.png.e43d5b01a55961c3f3ff77759b530416.png

I suspect that I am not setting up the string (or string array) pointer correctly because it completely locks up Altirra changing the screen colors and requiring a hard reboot when the program tries to execute the USR call.

This program works perfectly in Atari Basic, MMG-compiled Atari basic, and Basic XE.

If I comment out the USR call, the program will execute normally except it will not do anything because it isn't reading the disks.  So I feel my supporting logic is OK except for my string/string-array differences...

Any ideas what I am missing?

BTW... the AB versions are in SpartaDOS 3.3a and 4.49 - developed in Altirra.

Strings work differently in FastBasic.

Strings always use 256 bytes each, and they might have a max length of 255 bytes because the first byte says which is the current length of it.

For larger data you might use arrays of byte, and that requires to be DIMed.