IGNORED

How long can Atari cartridges theoretically last?

JPF997

There is a lot of consern right now in the retro gaming community over the problem of disc rot, the disc's of early disc based console's like the PS1 and 2 weren't exactly made to last, especially if used  frequently, cartridges are know for lasting much longer than disc's but how much longer is the question, I have no doubt that in 30 year's most PS1 disc's  and console's will be filling landfills while most old Atari console's and cartridges will still be playable ( they were built to last after all, not like the crap made in China today ), but after that how much longer  can they theoretically last, 50, 100, 200 year's? Does anyone have a rough estimation  of much longer we can expect these cart's to work before they start falling apart, let me know if you do.

I'm a Software Engineer so take all this with as many grains of salt as you need.

I once asked a bright EE at work about this and he said with a good quality EPROM/EEPROM you could reasonably expect a solid 20+ years if it was protected from light/extreme temps/electrical surges/etc. But likely much more - there are some EEPROMS approaching 50 years and still working and there will be some working at the 100 year mark.

Masked ROMs are different - they are generally considered to be more resilient though the myriad of little fuses can blow from a number of extreme causes but mostly because the universe is pissed at you and decides to blow one fuse changing a 1 to a 0 and rendering Yorgle, the red dragon, invincible with a new thirst for vengeance for his fallen brethren. Most of those masked ROMs could last indefinitely... or near enough to it for you to not worry much about it unless you're switching your VCS on and off (with cart inserted) a dozen times per second in an attempt to 'fry' load some game (and even then, we've seen masked ROMs be pretty resilient).