IGNORED

3D in jagstudio

Deadend85

On 12/8/2023 at 7:29 AM, Deadend85 said:

I am new to coding for consoles and new to using this api, i have a question. How can i make 3D shapes, i have a formula already for drawing lines, i just dont know how to send it to the gpu or display it

Maybe you should first read the documentation to understand what kind of machine you are trying to code.

• Like 1

12 hours ago, 42bs said:

Maybe you should first read the documentation to understand what kind of machine you are trying to code.

Well I have and im using C where the documentation "Jaguar Technical Reference Manual Tom & Jerry" it specifically says thats its designed for Assembly, I have looked at at the reference projects and i do not understand the functions used so i try to look through the reference manual for Jagstudio and Raptor API and they dont have documentation for the functions or the documentation doesnt really say how its said.

The GPU doesn't do 3D. It has a few features that can help with rasterizing, but it can't even draw a simple flat-color triangle by itself. You need a complete 3D engine, which JagStudio doesn't provide.

If you want to get started with JagStudio and Jaguar coding in general, 3D is definitely not what you should start with.

• Like 2

1 hour ago, Zerosquare said:

The GPU doesn't do 3D. It has a few features that can help with rasterizing, but it can't even draw a simple flat-color triangle by itself. You need a complete 3D engine, which JagStudio doesn't provide.

If you want to get started with JagStudio and Jaguar coding in general, 3D is definitely not what you should start with.

The Blitter draws Triangles. The GPU calculates them.

36 minutes ago, agradeneu said:

The Blitter draws Triangles. The GPU calculates them.

To be more a "Korinthenkacker": The Blitter draws the lines which form the triangle. Or any other polygon ;-)

(At least with all my experimenting, I did not find a way to make the Blitter draw a triangle.)