IGNORED

QI model schematics

Were they ever released, or has anyone reverse engineered the QI differences to the original schematics?

I'm just wondering if there isn't some quick mod that could be done to undo the side-port block out they implemented (which I think was only to stop 3rd party module-devices, given the GROM changes in v2.2 were designed to do just that).

The schematics are readily available.  Most of us here have original copies of the schematics of both (from technical manuals.)

Do you mean to say there is a modification to the expansion port on the QI?  That is a change I have never seen referenced, though I am no expert.  The only physical change of which I am aware in terms of expansion is the missing CRU lines from the GROM ports, and the removal of support for CS2.

• Like 1

Just now, OLD CS1 said:

Do you mean to say there is a modification to the expansion port on the QI?

Yes sir.  Cartridge GROM addresses are not routed to the side port, and I think CPU address >6000->7FFF is also not routed there.

It wasn't something commonly known BITD - at least no one ever talked about it that I knew of, only that v2.2 didn't run ROM only carts which was well known.

1 hour ago, JasonACT said:

Yes sir.  Cartridge GROM addresses are not routed to the side port, and I think CPU address >6000->7FFF is also not routed there.

Ah, neat.  Not routing >6000->7FFF makes sense to me on two levels: first, why have the same address ranges routed to two different locations with two different intended functions, and second, because of all the combined logic into the new VLSI.

I suspect one of the gurus has a digital copy of the schematics they can provide.

• Like 1