IGNORED

Lynx RPG, help me!

Pixel

Hi there, I'm new here! :)

I'm pretty new to the whole Atari thing and bought my first Atari console (The Lynx) a few months ago. I only have 3 games at the moment and these are: Steel Talons, S.T.U.N. Runner and Xenophobe.

My question is, is there an RPG for the Lynx? I'm really into RPGs like Final Fantasy and Zelda and would love to have an RPG which is similar in style to the aforementioned games.

I am not entirely sure if the Lynx or it's games has a save function of any sort or is even capable of such a feature, so maybe the reason I can't find one is due to the fact that the system is incapable of hosting such a game.

But if there is one, please let me know! :)

Many thanks! :)

Welcome to the boards (and to the Atari scene in general) Pixel!

Unfortunately the Lynx doesn't have any RPG's like FF at the moment, although there is one slated for next year called Distant Lands which looks pretty good and it should make a perfect addition to the Lynx library. There is an unfinished RPG for the Lynx called Daemon's Gate that you can get from B&C Computervisions however. I'm not sure how far along they got with the game, but it is playable. The only other game I know of that is close to an RPG is Viking Child, which I like but it isn't a full-blooded RPG like FF, it's more of a 2D side-scrolling adventure game. Don't give up hope however, Distant Lands is just around the corner. :wink:

The Lynx is capable of having games with a save function (for example the upcoming Alpine Games should have one), but there are very few games equipped for such a thing. I'm not sure which ones do have an EPROM for game saving, anyone know which ones do?

First of all: Welcome and congratulations Pixel! You now own the most wonderful game console yet constructed by human beings - The Atari Lynx!! ;)