IGNORED

Why still mess with this ancient computer?

danwinslow

I am a professional programmer, and have been for many, many years. I've worked on everything from old Burroughs 3500's through Unisys through Honeywell, Early PC's, Wangs, Perkin Elmers, and the whole spectrum of bizarre DoD computer stuff, many and various Unix/Solaris/Linux boxes....you name it, I've probably coded badly on it. Why, in this age of terabyte storage, gigaflop processors, and more RAM than the entire DoD had in 1975 on my frikkin calculator, would anyone still want to mess around on 8 bit computers?

I have been having to explain this obsession to people. They don't quite understand. "He likes computers", they think. "He ought to like new, powerful ones, but he doesn't. He likes old crappy ones." Conclusion : "He's nuts".

In thinking about this, I have reached the conclusion that the main reason for my interest in these older computers, aside from nostalgia, is that you can wrap your arms around the WHOLE thing in a way that is impossible with modern platforms. Anybody out there seen the ENTIRE windows API lately? Think you could memorize that? 1/10 of that? Anyone tried to learn every motif call? Anyone tried to punt Windows out of the way and take over the box? Anyone tried to write a new OS from scratch on a modern computer?