IGNORED

MKII Speaker Buzz Problem...Please help!

BDAVIS

Hi, I am a total Newb. I just got a Mortal Kombat II game for Christmas. It is in great condition. The only problem is a buzz from my speaker. It gets worse if there is any white on the screen (?!) like when "Midway Presents" comes up. also there are some very slight "static lines" on my screen.

It looks like all the ground wires are in place. What else should I look at? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

I have had a few games with the same problem and I have found the problem to be one or a combo of these things

1. bad line filter on the incoming power

2. bad audio amp

3. bad grounding

4. 12v, 120v, 5v (or what ever volt the particular games takes) wiring running to close to your speaker, or video lines.

hopes this helps. if you have any questions about any of this I will be on here all night (I'm working night shift at the hospital tonight)

wade

Thanks for your reply!

Would you be able to walk me through how to test these items. I'm sorry but I am totally inept but with a strong desire to learn.

yea. I can walk you through a few things where do you want to start. you will have to do some searching since I have not worked on your game before meaning I won't be able to tell you exactally where everthing is.. you will also need a multimeter

I wont be able to check it out tonight but tomorrow night after work I am planning to work on it. In the meantime how would I check the line filter or the amp? Remember I am totally new at this, I put new bulbs in my coin mechs tonight and I am still happy about that..pretty pathetic I know.

Thanks again.

I wont be able to check it out tonight but tomorrow night after work I am planning to work on it. In the meantime how would I check the line filter or the amp? Remember I am totally new at this, I put new bulbs in my coin mechs tonight and I am still happy about that..pretty pathetic I know.

Thanks again.