IGNORED

Decathlon. . . tips and tricks?

bobafett07728

Hello everyone, I have been away from the forums for a while, just getting back on. I started playing Decathlon again, and I have a few questions that have been eating away at my brain.

1. What controllers are the best for this game? - I use an Epyx XJ500? ( the label is LONG gone), its the only working controller I have had for the past 10 years, and I love it.

2. For the running events (non 1500), does the bar go to the end? I'm pretty sure it doesn't but, I'm only asking this becuase I can't go any faster than 10.11 in the 100m. . . no matter what I do I get a 10.11 every time, and I can't move the stick any faster. It may be the joystick has reached its limit, but I see much faster times in the record book

3. Is there a special technique used in the Pole Vault to get higher clearances? When I was growing up, I used to always excell at this event, I used to get ridiculous scores in respect to the other events. My brothers and I want to believe that we did something that made the guy sort of "push" off the bar at the top of his vault. It is quite possible that we are crazy, and are just adding to Atari legend, but what used to be my best event has through the years become my worst. Once again, we never used an Epyx controler back then (didn't get this until our Commodore came), so it may have to do with the controller.

4. Is this one of the best games, or what? - No matter how many times I play it, or how identical my scores have become. . . I can't get enough of this game!!! It is one of the best games to play multiplayer, and it is a true classic!!!

Thaks for any input, and good luck with all your gaming!!!

I tried the Track N Field controller on Decathlon and didn't care for it. I can't get the hang of the three buttons, especially on the 400 m Hurdles.

Personally, I had the most success with the original CX-40 Atari joystick.

The Tac-2 is pretty comfortable too, it works very well.