IGNORED

1008 K Axlon Compatible Board w/Base RAM and no soldering

reifsnyderb

Hello,

I have a couple Atari 800's that I'd like to upgrade.  But I really don't want to modify them or even solder to them unless it's to make a repair.  About 2 months ago I started studying the 3 Atari 800 RAM slots and how they are all interconnected.  As a programmer I realized that with /s0 through /s5 and with a0 through a13 that it's quite possible to determine the how a14 and a15 are set.  With this information a lot can be done.  (I am working on some other things, too.)  The way the Atari routes the select lines through to the different boards also allows for some other options, as well.  (These connections don't have to be select lines.)  All of this can be done without soldering.  For memory, all that's needed is an extra board in the first RAM slot that passes /s0 and /s1 to the second RAM slot.  I've combined /s0 and /s1 into one signal as there's no reason to use more select lines between boards than absolutely necessary.  On this board, Axlon Banks can be set without any shadowing in lower memory.  The AS6C1008 chip handles the 32k of RAM normally sellected by /s0, /s1, /s4, and /s5.  The AS6C8008 handles the memory normally selected by /s2 and /s3...which includes 62 additional 16k memory banks if CFFF is set.

Today I got in my first batch of prototype boards to make an Axlon Compatible using only 74LSxxx chips and some SRAM.  While I had a little troubleshooting to do and had to make a couple slight changes, it works!  So, I've already made the changes to the KiCAD files for another order.  (I'll probably have JLCPCB put some of the capacitors and resistors on for me with this order, as well.)  So, anyhow, here it is:

cards.thumb.JPG.2445d4120d520e990d7ce9645b845b47.JPG

cards_installed_1.thumb.JPG.81c2d9b49b383be3edb66ef0b6bf3f1c.JPG

cards_installed_2.thumb.JPG.d93df3357e398b01a85fa981c25a0e62.JPG

simple_checker.thumb.JPG.780c2601048c3df10b6ee7698f0fcfe6.JPG