IGNORED

UGV installed in my 130XE - Great display output quality!

Beeblebrox

So glad I picked up this ready made UGV board from Ebay for a very reasonable price. Has breathed new life into my 130XE which had a very poor display output prior to installation.

More info from Mytek's page here which tell you all about what the board can do to save me detailing it all here: https://ataribits.weebly.com/ugv.html

A big thanks to @mytek for creating this excellent board. :D

The host 130XE this has been installed in was one of the first A8's I'd tinkered with and the first machine I brought back from the dead in 2021 when I got back on the Atari 8-bit scene after many years.(More info here if interested).

As I was a novice it had a lot of work done to it, (ended up more or less fully socketing it in the process), and a week or so was spent trying to troubleshoot why it was dead, etc.

I've since learnt a lot and have fixed many other A8s. Still learning. :)

Anyway- to cut a long story short I managed to fix it in 2021 and also at the time perform various video tweaks to improve the poor XE video output on S-video with an LCD TV. This included the S.X.E mod tweak.

It helped  - but for one reason or another the video output wasn't great on this machine.

So this 130XE sat unused whilst I focused on other A8s.

Fast forward to 2023. I decided to revisit it recently and transplant an UM1B module I had from another machine into it.

I then decided - having read up on it and then coming across a ready made UGV board on Ebay - to check out the UGV to see if I could bring a great vidoe output to this machine.

So glad I did. Being in the UK - shiping a UAV board over isn't cost effective in my case. I have Sophia 2 and VBXE modules in other A8's which as everyone knows provide great display outputs - especially Sophia.

However for this XE I needed something cheap. So at a little over £30 including postage costs I couldn't pass it up.:D