IGNORED

The 400 Mini

JetmanUK

Yes, I know this is a 2600+ forum. I am just wondering what the crossover is with the two machines. Who's getting one?

Mine will arrive today and it's a voyage of discovery for me, I have no prior experience or nostalgia for the Atari 8 bit computers or the 5200.

I had a 2600 then a ZX Spectrum BITD, my bro had a C64 which I also played on and later became mine too. There will be some crossover of games from those other systems, but it will be good to play new versions and more so games that are new to me. 

The first game I will play? I'm going for familiarity, Lee, I played it as Bruce Lee so much on the Spectrum and C64. A real top 10 game from my childhood. I see that a 2600 verison is in development, and I should download the 7800 version, which is best? Hmmm.

Does anyone have any must plays for the Mini 400? 

Edited by JetmanUK
  • Like 3

I’ve got a 400 on order.

They’re not available here in New Zealand so I pre-ordered from Amazon UK, which means it’ll be 1-2 weeks before it arrives.

I also have no experience of Atari 8 bit computers. I lived in the UK as a kid, and I didn’t know anyone who had one, I don’t think they really took off there. We all mostly had Commodore or Sinclair computers after the Atari VCS.

I’ve bought it on the back of happy experiences with the 2600+ and the C64 Maxi. For me, this one is a curiosity rather than nostalgia, and I’m looking forward to trying it out. I’ll probably work my way through all of the included 25 games!

• Like 1

Posted (edited)
59 minutes ago, infinite.pies said:

I’ve got a 400 on order.

They’re not available here in New Zealand so I pre-ordered from Amazon UK, which means it’ll be 1-2 weeks before it arrives.

I also have no experience of Atari 8 bit computers. I lived in the UK as a kid, and I didn’t know anyone who had one, I don’t think they really took off there. We all mostly had Commodore or Sinclair computers after the Atari VCS.