IGNORED

Does anyone actually pay $20 for ROMs?

BobAtari

I know everyone has strong opinions about pricing for retro homebrew - and if it needs saying I fully support the right of creators to ask whatever price they see fit for their creations and I don't believe I have any right to get them for less - but does anyone actually pay $20 for a digital ROM?

I'm not asking "do you think it's a fair price?", because fairness is an inherently subjective concept and not really applicable to non-necessity items anyway. I'm asking if you put your money where your mouth is and genuinely hand over the real dollars in real life.

(I don't. I've paid $10 many a time, but that's my limit. I'd love to buy the entire Champ Games 2600 catalogue at that price, but at $20 a pop they can shove it.)

Just curious. Show of hands?

Edited by BobAtari
  • Like 2
  • Haha 2

As an emulator developer, I'm happy to support non-DRM digital downloads (and, similarly, I'm not a fan of DRM/locked ROMs). While I strongly prefer $5/$10 price-points, I'm fine paying up to $20 and have on many occasions. 

This stuff is a labor of love - I've put many hundreds of hours into developing emulators for classic systems for the DS/DSi and I know how much effort development is (no kidding - if I charged my professional rate for the development, it would amount to more than $40k of pro-bono work). Giving a developer some pizza money in exchange for a high-quality game/port sits just fine with me (especially if that helps encourage further development activities).

• Like 10
  • Thanks 4

1 hour ago, BobAtari said:

(I don't. I've paid $10 many a time, but that's my limit. I'd love to buy the entire Champ Games 2600 catalogue at that price, but at $20 a pop they can shove it.)

Just curious. Show of hands?