IGNORED

First project using Jagstudio : Where is it ?

Eric M

Hi 
Here is a little demo of Whereisit? a game I've created on colecovision and ported to msx and recently on mastersytem. (this demo was totally rewritten)
It's my first project on Jag' using JagStudio. Thanks guys for your great devlib

The Game
You have to search a 3x3 patterns in a bigger area in a given time
There are 10 rounds by stage(represented by a little flag)
At the end of the 10th round, you arrive in a bonus stage (you don't loose any life and you can't press PAUSE) 

Controls
directions : Up, Down, Left and Right
A : quit menu and enter th game
B : Start Game / action > when you had found the correct pattern, press K
PAUSE : to pause game, press again to continue (10 PAUSE by round)

Futur

There's a lot of work to be done and, the more I play with, the more I want to add some options ;)

What's more, the graphics aren't definitive.

Don't hesitate to test it out and let me know if you find any bugs.
known issues : sometime the cursor is not placed at his correct coords

see you

Eric 'Ricco59' M.

whereisit_jag_231108.abs

• Like 14

• 4 weeks later...

ZeroPage Homebrew is playing Where Is It? on tomorrow's ZPH stream LIVE on Twitch! Hope you can join us in the chat!

Games:

• Like 1

Thanks for the test of "Where is it?"
As you could see the timer and movements are very slow.
On an emulator it's perfect!
During a French convention, RGC2023, I was able to try it on a real jaguar with my skunkboard and I saw this slowness. Thanks to Fadest for his help ;)
Programming on Jaguar is totally different, it's another way of doing things.
In our case, I'm displaying 14x13 sprites, with several parameters tested in real time for each sprite. That's what slows the game down!

I'm currently working on another display mode that also works (on an emulator). For the moment I can't test on jaguar because the usb plug on my skunkboard has come loose (it had already been repaired!).