IGNORED

Gyruss for the Atari 7800?

HawkMines

Gyruss is my favorite game for the 2600, and I didn't see anyone that has made a version for the 7800. So I was wondering, is it possible to make Gyruss for the 7800? I'm not a programmer so I don't know what it would take to make it happen.

Of course it's possible. Why wouldn't it be possible? Graphically Gyruss is little more than a bunch of sprites moving around on a black background, which is exactly what the 7800 was built to do.

You'd probably want to use an on-cart sound chip though.

It's basically Tempest without the tube and with fancy graphics and a kick ass soundtrack. It was my very favorite non-Atari arcade game back then. Unfortunately, Konami blew it with not only their NES port but also whatever poor-excuse-of-a-version is included via Xbox Live.

Be forewarned though, the arcade original has something like 12 sound chips in it… AYs I believe.

The POKEY soundtrack in the commercially released version for A8/5200 is nice [haven't heard the unreleased version]. Although I must say, there's enough talent on this board to create an even better version using POKEY just like what has ben demonstrated a few months back with the Double Dragon theme via POKEY.

I seem to remember the arcade version featuring only one fire button so if Trak-Ball support was added - don't laugh, using the Trak-Ball on 5200 Tempest is awesome - so the 7800 wouldn't be at a disadvantage by using a stock CX-22 or CX-80 Trak-Ball. And yes I know Gyruss didn't feature a spinner in the arcade although it should have! I don't think anyone has created a 7800 spinner yet. The 2600 Driving Controller probably wouldn't work well with this game.

Edited by Lynxpro
  • Like 1

Be forewarned though, the arcade original has something like 12 sound chips in it… AYs I believe.

From what i've read it's 4 at least. Two for the sound effects, one for purcussion, and one for Tocatta and Fugue in D minor.