IGNORED

Jaguar Homebrew VS Megadrive / Genesis Homebrew

mdkdue

Hi everyone 

Let me just start by saying that I am not a programmer myself and that I have nothing but respect for all the homebrew efforts that we receive on the Jaguar and I fully support them and send my thanks to all the developers.

I just wanted to ask a question to the community.

I was watching this video tonight 

which is highlighting upcoming Megadrive / Genesis homebrew in 2023, and some of the work looks seriously impressive, especially The Simpsons Arcade port at the end.

It just made me wonder. The Megadrive is based on the same 68000 also present in the Jaguar if I am not mistaken? And surely the Jaguars extra chips make it even more powerful? 
Is there a reason why we are not seeing titles of this graphic quality on the Jaguar as homebrew games?

Is it purely down to the console being so hard to program?

If this has already been asked then I am sorry, and please don’t flame me, this is just a genuine wondering on my part.

Thanks for reading.

We do:

The disparity in numbers?  I believe, although I may be wrong, that the megadrive sold a tad more units than the Jaguar. Do the math.

As to The Simpsons, that might be down to the fact that there are a small minority of so-called Jaguar "fans" who would rather call the copyright cops than enjoy new games, who regularly ruin it for others.  It just takes one idiot to sell a copy of such a title on ebay to trigger things ...

• Like 15

What graphical quality are you referring to, exactly? I'd say none of those Genesis/MegaDrive homebrews can match the number of colors on-screen that you get in Jag homebrews like Gravitic Mines or Last Strike, or the voxel graphics of Fallen Angels. Having said all that, there are certainly a good number of talented homebrew devs on the Genesis side, considering its far larger fanbase, so you're bound to get a lot more variety of games than you'll see on the Jag.

• Like 2